Spring Feng Shui
May 9, 2011, 10:38 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Feng shui (/ˌfʌŋˈʃweɪ/ ( listen) fung-SHWAY,[1] formerly /ˈfʌŋʃuː.i/ FUNG-shoo-ee;[2] Chinese: 風水, pronounced [fə́ŋʂwèi]) (or Fung shui) is an ancient Chinese system of aesthetics believed to use the laws of both Heaven (astronomy) and Earth (geography) to help one improve life by receiving positive qi.[3] The original designation for the discipline is Kan Yu (simplified Chinese: 堪舆; traditional Chinese: 堪輿; pinyin: kānyú; literally: Tao of heaven and earth).[4]

Did some rearranging of the furniture this weekend and quickly it has translated into a more comfortable blissful atmosphere that has fostered new ideas. I recently read an interview with Kim Shattuck, lead singer of the Muffs. After 20 years, she still she gets bummed when she doesn’t write songs. I can kind of – sort of relate. When I go long periods without making something or doing something active I tend to feel lost. I can’t really explain it.

“Life isn’t a support system for art. It’s the other way around.” — Stephen King

I’ve become better at listening to my intuition, trusting my heart instead of my head, and I must say its made a tremendous difference in my quality of life. Some things that have been inspiring me as of late:

Keith Haring. Absolutely, without a doubt my favorite artist. Seeing his commercials on Nickelodeon as a child might have been the first time I recognized a drawing as a peice of art. To this day his doodles make me wanna draw. You can tell that a lot of my other favorite artists Margaret Killgalen, Geoff Mcfetridge, Mark Gonzales, were also highly influenced by Keith’s work. It has the same appeal as punk rock music. Growing up I never related to heavy metal or complicated guitar rock mostly because it was so beyond me. I had a difficult time comprehending it. Plus, I was not that angry, probably why I indentified with pop punk music. The simplicity in it all , and the fact they it not only embraced imperfection, but encouraged it was really rad. Trying to fit in was (and still is) really stressful. As a kid, being different was actually more appealing. It was not until my later teenage years that it became inconvenient. There is a great Haring Doc on instant watch for those of you who have Netflix. If not, check your library.

– Another thing recent discovery, listening to my girlfriend tinker on her drum machine while I’m in the other room. The other day she was random jamming something random and I bursted in the room complimenting her on her interesting rhythms. Turned out she was just setting the thing, but I heard some ideas in there. The walls sort of distorted it. It’s kind of cool listening to things from a distance from time to time because it sounds really different. Sometimes you can get good ideas that way.

– Skateboarding. Skateboarding will always be the ultimate way to get ideas. Sometimes sitting around the house with writer’s block can make you go insane. Having the option to go outside and push around will always help you to look at things differently. Recently I changed my set up and approach. I now skate +8.3″ decks with 55mm wheels. This bigger set up has made it near impossible to do nollie flips, or any flip trick for that matter. So instead of forcing it, I’ve switched up the program, and paired it down to ollies, kickflips, heel flips, 180s, and pop shoves, but full speed. Since I started skating again I’ve been drawn to those old 80s Powell and Santa Cruz videos. My set up is clunky for me, but it forces me to focus on the rolling part. That is some old man shit, but I never really appreciated the 80s stuff before. Revisting it now, and seeing that art, punk rock, and skateboarding all went hand in hand is really cool even at this stage in the game. Reading interviews with old pros it seems like everyone was in a band back in the day.

– I’m also a big fan of Danny Montoya and Rob G’s new program BLVD. The design and aesthetic are great. It’s like a west coast brand with east coast qualities. Clean street skating. I’ve deduced that I’ve always liked east coast street skating because of the attitude. Most of my favorite pros in the 90s had that looked like they didn’t care. All that Zoo Mixtape stuff and Love Park footage is unexplainable. You can’t mimic style. It’s just a natural unexplainable thing. They were just busting and not thinking twice about it. All that old NYC footage, shit is classic for a reason. Not an east coast guy, but turly an original, Tom Penny, when that dude started jumping down stairs looking like they were half asleep I was blown away. Tom Penny didn’t make me want to jump down no stairs though. I’ve always been afraid of stairs. BLVD is rad too because its a small tight program. Again to piggyback on the aforementioned, why would you want to sport the most popular brand? Sure you want to get the shit your favorite skaters wear, but why look like everyone else? The thing I’m most proud of with Olde Ivory is its exclusiveness. It’s not a big money making project (though I would certainly entertain the idea, I am not gonna lie I want it to by successful and profitable). It’s a small thing that only certain heads get. Even though its a tiny operation it still takes a lot of work. I give it up to all those bigger or med size brands that are constantly running around to get shit done. The grind ain’t for everyone. But I definitely like to support small projects. BLVD is not necesssarily small, but compared to Girl, Alien, Plan B, and all that they are pretty small. I like all the local shit, like Bacon Skateboards, Brian Lotti’s Telegraph, it just rad cause you know they are not making any money and are doing it for different reasons.

Comments Off on Spring Feng Shui





Comments are closed.



