Kanak Files: Beast
April 1, 2011, 2:03 am
Filed under: Kanak Files

I had two of the best meals in my entire life this past week. No joke. Spent some coin, but damn it was worth it. The first spot was called Beast a brunch spot in Portland, OR which which came highly recommended.

BEAST offers a six-course prix-fixe dinner four nights a week and a four-course prix-fixe brunch every Sunday. We change our offerings every Wednesday and the menu remains the same through Saturday. You can view the Dinner Menu for the week starting Wednesday afternoons.

Co-owner Naomi Pomeroy was actually a contestant on Iron Chef. I am not going to attempt to describe the experience with my limited vocabulary. I’ll let the photos and ingredients do that for me. They had a wine pairing for an extra $20 which I did not get, but I will list it regardless.


Game face.


Forgot to ask what type of coffee they served, but the silkiness and consistency was similar to that of Vivace. I am not a huge coffee person, but Vivace is the best, Stumptown a close second. French press, the first cup was divine.


The pros at work.

Here we go!

Champage Poached Apricot Clafoutis
Soft Whipped Cream
Maple-Glazed Bacon & Candied

Spreitzer Oestricher Lenchen Riesling Kabinett 2008
Rheingau, Germany

Beast Hash
Pork Belly & Butter Poached Lamb
Market Potatoes
Maitake Mushrooms
Brussels Sprouts
Poached Duck Egg
Oregon Truffle Hollandaise

IBY Blaufrankisch Classic 2009
Burgenland, Austria

Selection of Cheese from Cheese Bar (sorry don’t remember names, too busy eating and crying tears of joy)
Viridian Farms Arugula
Aged Sauvignon Blanc Vinaigrette

Domaine Richou Chauvigne Anjou Blanc 2009
Loire, France

Chocolate Truffle Cake
Armagnac Prune Ice Cream & Cracked Pepper Tuilie

Alvear Pedro Ximenez Solera 1927
Montilla, Spain

There you have it. The most epic meal of my career. I ain’t no food snob. This was a completely new experience for me and I enjoyed every second of it. Olde Ivory is all about eating, no doubt.

Comments Off on Kanak Files: Beast





Comments are closed.



